Effective March 1, 2008, according to NDCC 43-41-04.2,
all applicants for licensure shall be required to submit to a statewide and nationwide criminal history check as well as consent to a Child Abuse Information Index Check and authorization for the ND Department of Human Services or its designee to release to the Board reports of decisions that services are required for child abuse or neglect filed pursuant to NDCC 50-25.1-05.2. [Applicants who hold a current North Dakota license and are applying for an upgrade of their current licenses are not required to complete the criminal history checks and the Child Abuse Information Index Check.]
All information obtained from the ND Department of Human Services or its designee is confidential and closed to the public except that it may be disclosed for use in an adjudicative or judicial proceeding.
All costs associated with obtaining a background check and the Child Abuse Information Index Check are the responsibility of the applicant.
Once your application for license is received by the Board office, a Criminal History Record Check Request form and two (2) fingerprint cards will be mailed to you. Complete the form and mail it back to the Board office along with the two (2) fingerprint cards containing your set of prints.
Both cards must be printed on and submitted directly to the Board office.
The cost to run the criminal history checks is $44.50. you must submit a check or money order for $44.50,
made payable to the North Dakota Attorney General along with the form and both fingerprint cards to the Board office. You may get fingerprinted at your local law enforcement agency. Please call ahead, as fingerprinting may only be offered on certain week days. There may be an additional cost for fingerprinting depending on the agency you go to.
have any questions regarding the licensure process or questions on how
to properly complete the forms you may email firstname.lastname@example.org
Reciprocity Application for Licensure
If you have any questions regarding the licensure process or questions on how to properly complete the forms, you may e-mail email@example.com.
MSW Clinical Supervision Plan for LICSW Status
Prior to earning clinical supervision hours for achieving LICSW status, you must submit a Supervision Plan to the Board for approval. All plans are reviewed by the Board at regularly scheduled quarterly meetings. The deadline for submission of a plan to be reviewed is exactly two weeks prior to the upcoming Board meeting date. See the Calendar page for upcoming meeting dates. If your plan is not received by the Board office prior to the deadline, your plan won’t be reviewed by the Board until the next quarterly meeting.
The beginning date for approved supervision plans is the date the plan is received by the Board office. Supervision hours earned before that date will not count.
The Clinical level exam is required for obtaining the LICSW license and must be completed and passed within one year from the date the application for LICSW is received by the Board office. See N.D. Admin. Code 75.5-02-03-02. Therefore, you should wait to submit your application for LICSW licensure and approval to sit for the exam until you are finished or nearly finished with your MSW Clinical Supervision Plan.
MSW Clinical Supervision Plan for LICSW Status Form
These documents are in PDF
format. To read this format you need the latest
version of Adobe Acrobat Reader. Click the icon to download the
free acrobat reader.
Frequently Asked Questions and Answers Regarding Licensure
are the levels and qualifications for social work licensure in North
levels of practice are licensed. A
Licensed Social Worker (LSW) holds a bachelorís degree in social work
and is limited to working for an agency or organization. A Licensed Certified Social
Worker (LCSW) holds a masterís or doctorate degree in social work and
must also work for an agency or organization. A Licensed Independent Clinical
Social Worker holds a masterís or doctorate degree in social work and
has successfully completed within four years, three thousand (3,000)
hours of post-master's clinical social work experience. A Licensed Independent Clinical
Social Worker may practice independently and is eligible for
reimbursement by third party insurance payers. North Dakota social workers at
all levels of licensure are required to complete 30 hours of continuing
education each licensing period.
you have a social work degree to be licensed in North Dakota?
In North Dakota you have to have a degree in social work from an
accredited school to be licensed.
No other degree is accepted.
Q: What is the process for reinstatement of licensure?
To reinstate your license after the renewal date has passed you
must start at the beginning. This
means you must file an application, application fee, licensure fee,
official transcript, repeat the exam, and provide three references.
North Dakota have reciprocity with other states?
when applying for licensure you must have the Verification
of Out of State Licensure Form filled out by the board in the
state where you are licensed.
If that states qualifications do not meet the same qualifications as
North Dakota you must meet North Dakotaís requirements.
What if I fail to renew my license?
you do not renew by Dec. 31st, you are no longer licensed and
able to practice social work in North Dakota until you have fulfilled
all requirements for renewal. You must re-apply for licensure including a
re-take of the exam.
Upon receipt of my license may I engage in the
private/independent practice of social work?
Licensed Independent Clinical Social Workers may engage in the
private/independent practice of social work.
When and where may I take the examination?
may register to take the examination after the Board approves your
application for licensure and notifies you of your eligibility. The Board currently uses the
Association of Social Work Boards (ASWB) examinations. The examinations are administered in Bismarck and West Fargo at the Pearson Professional Center.
I fail the examination, may I retake it?
but you must wait 90 days before retaking the examination
Does North Dakota have a temporary or provisional license?
NO. This means if you
fail the examination, you are unable to practice social work in North
Dakota until you have passed the test and been licensed.
Please explain the supervision required to become a LICSW.
To become a LICSW you must have 3000 hours of post-graduate,
supervised clinical experience earned within 2 to 4 years. (Supervision must be obtained by a Licensed Independent Clinical Social Worker). See Requirements
NDBSWE | Box 914 - 2900 E Broadway |
Bismarck, ND 58502-0914
Voice (701) 222-0255 - Fax (701) 224-9824 Email firstname.lastname@example.org